Tags

, , ,

Review of Possum Living: How to Live Well Without a Job and with Almost No Money by Dolly Freed

 

Coverage: Simple living

Date: 1978

ISBN: 0876639872

Pages: 176 with NO index

 

There is certainly much to learn from this book – it’s full of little helpful tips that can help save you money in your life, but there are some significant parts of the book that are outdated. There is a newly issued edition from 2010 (ISBN 9780982053935), but the body has not been updated since the original release.

I should point out that there are parts of this book that just won’t be practical or appealing to most folks – there are sections that advocate vandalism and others where eating stray pets is considered. Directions for moonshine are also given – and the legal advice in the book is probably quite out of date.

All in all – I’d call this one a “might be useful but take with a very large grain of salt”. Certainly, very few folks would consider following all of the advice given – nor would I recommend that myself. Mine it for the useful tidbits and ignore the more provocative parts as well as the legal advice, nutrition advice and anything that seems dated. I’m not planning on purchasing a copy – I got my review copy through inter-library loan, and while I did take a few notes on the heating stove, not much else struck me as worth buying the book.

 

Usefulness to the beginning prepper: 1 of 10

Usefulness to the advanced prepper: 3 of 10

General type of work: Simple living primers

